It Really is Better to Give

He was the greatest gift of all.

He was the greatest gift of all.

Christmas time means different things to different people.  Shopping comes to mind.  People fighting over parking spots, not me I choose the hassle free world of online shopping but there is so much more to Christmas.

Of course I want my kids to open gifts and have that giddy feeling on Christmas morning and they will. However this year we’ve decided to change things up a bit. I want to make sure my kids understand that it’s important to show gratitude by sharing your blessings.  With that thought I proposed that they use their own money to buy something from the Samaritans Purse Gift Catalog. This way they would be giving a gift that would not only put a smile on someone’s face but actually improve their life and give them hope. They’ve always put together a Christmas shoe box each year so I wasn’t sure if they’d agree to doing more. At first I didn’t know if they’d be happy about it or complain but I was pleased to find that they actually loved the idea.  I was a proud mama.  So this will be the first year of a new tradition This year they plan on buying some baby chicks and maybe even a goat, they can’t seem to decide.  Either way I’m happy to see  them eagerly decide between them.

I’m sure you have your own Christmas traditions that you have each year.  How about adding a new one? Help give hope to those that have so little.  Share your blessings and Christ’s love for them in the process.

Help Raise a Village

 

Merry Christmas

6 For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counselor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.  

Isaiah 9:6

So...did you enjoy this post? I'd love to hear your thoughts.

