The Grass Isn’t Always Greener | Rachel Cruze

Before you read the re-blog I’ve posted here by Rachel Cruze I’d like to share a bit of what I deal with when it comes to my kids.

On so many different occasions I find my kids wanting and “needing” more and more. Today it’s that “awesome” game, tomorrow it’s that amazing skateboard.  I can’t keep up.  I’m sure all parents face this at one time or another…at least I hope I’m not alone in this.

Grass...what grass

Grass? What grass?!

There are spenders and there are savers.  I happen to have one of each.  My daughter saves and only splurges once in a blue moon. My son on the other hand has a new favorite item every week.  I truly can’t keep up with him anymore.  I’ve tried time and again to explain that he needs to relax and save.  That doesn’t go over very well.  Last Friday he wanted a game for his Nintendo 3ds which he purchased with his own money and today he explained to me that he wanted a different one.  When I said to wait on it he came back to me with another game choice.  He’s apparently missing the point.  I’m not giving up though…today I had a conversation with him about making good choices now, so that he doesn’t have to struggle in his future. “It doesn’t matter what your friends have, you need to be happy with what you have.”  Hey, little seeds that’s all I can plant and pray that they take root as I try to lead by example.

I came across this post by Rachel Cruze and felt I needed to share it.  I know I benefited from it and wanted to pass on the blessing.

Thanks Rachel…

 The Grass Isn’t Always Greener | Rachel Cruze.

Also as a great read I’m including a link for a book written by Rachel Cruze and her dad Dave Ramsey.  I can ‘t wait to check it out.

Smart Money Smart Kids

So...did you enjoy this post? I'd love to hear your thoughts.

