In God We Trust

It was just like every other morning.  Wake up early to start the day and trudge through all the “stuff”.  Going through the motions just to get to the end of another day.  Bus stops, school work, homework and study for tests in between.  Taxi back and forth, home to school, school to home with sports or church in between.  There never seems to be any down time.  No time to reflect or just be a family.  That’s a wake-up call letting me know that something needs to be done.  Life is not given to us to merely trudge through wasting our few precious moments together complaining about how bad it all is.  I choose to forego the complaining about what’s wrong and make changes even small ones that will help improve the quality of how we live–of how we are a family.

So…I made a clear statement to my kids.  “When we’re tempted to complain about something no matter how big or small let’s not.  Instead let’s think about a positive”.  As the words left my mouth I have to admit that I was doubting if I could even keep myself in check.  That’s easier said than done but when you pinky promise you have to follow through, at very least make an attempt.  The first day was great we helped one another by holding each other accountable to keeping our promise.  The second day wasn’t as easy.  Complaints seemed to trickle in and were quickly excused away.  That’s when I realized that we were focusing too much on our will and not at all on God’s.

New pinky promise…in everything we do, do it to please the Lord not by our strength but rather through what He alone can provide.

 

Psalm 37:5

Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him to help you do it, and he will.

So...did you enjoy this post? I'd love to hear your thoughts.

